Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez will be named the 2015 Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill, which takes place tonight in London. Sanchez topped the fans’ vote, holding off stiff competition from runner-up Jamie Vardy. Sergio Aguero, David De Gea, Harry Kane and John Stones made up the rest of the shortlist. 180,000 votes were cast in this year’s Awards – previous winners of the FSF Player of the Year include Luis Suarez (2013) and Sergio Aguero (2014). Alexis Sanchez said: “I’m delighted to receive the FSF Player of the year award. It’s been a great year for me on the pitch and I’m thrilled it has been recognised by the fans. “Arsenal has enjoyed a good start to the season and it was disappointing to pick up an injury at this important time. But I‘m hoping to be back soon to help my team mates have another successful year. ”

His manager Arsene Wenger said: “Alexis has had a fantastic year – winning the FA Cup with us and the Copa America with Chile. A, serves as a reminder that no platform is entirely safe, and that everybody should remain cautious when using any kind of software. “He has made a huge impact on English football since his arrival at the Emirates and I’m very happy that his skill, ability and dedication has been recognised by football fans across the country. ”


Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said: “Alexis is a fantastic player who has lit up the Premier League since arriving in 2014. He’s a constant threat and played a huge role in helping Arsenal win the FA Cup last season, including a goal in the final. “Thierry Henry called him Arsenal’s best signing of the past six years – and we certainly wouldn’t disagree. He’s a worthy winner of the FSF Player of the Year Award 2015. ”

The FSF Awards in association with William Hill will take place tonight (Monday 7th December 2015, 7pm-11pm) at St Pancras Renaissance Hotel (London) where the winners in 10 other categories will be announced. New Valencia boss Gary Neville goes head-to-head with his Sky Sports colleague Jamie Carragher in the Pundit of the Year category. They face stiff competition from Danny Murphy, Pat Nevin, Paul Scholes and Ian Wright. Other categories voted on by the public are Commentator of the Year, Newspaper of the Year, Podcast of the Year, Radio Show of the Year and Writer of the Year. An FSF Awards Panel will decide the Away Day of the Year, Blogger of the Year, Fanzine of the Year and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year. UEFA guidelines dictate that every club must appoint a Supporter Liaison Officer and SLO of the Year will reward the person who’s gone the extra mile for their club’s fan base. See the full list of nominees across all 11 categories at.